ErinIs…

Help.

Posted on: December 9, 2008

As Google continues to slowly take over our lives and do everything we could ever image something to do, they’ve released a 411 service.

Just dial 1-800-GOOG-411 from any phone for a Google based voice recognition directory. I hate voice recognitin anything. While I’m normally an early adopter and technology lover, I will scream ‘Help’ and pound on the 0 key to be connected to a real live person on any answering service. 

Google’s voice reconition is better than the few other services I’ve tried (5-1-1 traffic is especially heinous) and it pulls data directly from the Google Maps database.  I tested it for our clients and they all are within the first round of businesses within thier category (automotive, credit unions, etc). 

But really, I only call 411 when I’m driving around lost. Even then I tend to go online rather then dial 411. I wonder how long until they monetize it with some advertising or featured listings….

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Tweets

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
