ErinIs…

Relevancy.

Posted on: December 3, 2008

The recent IDC report released in November investiageted the differences between social network users and ‘regular’ internet users. The study discovered that social network users were less receptive to online advertising with only 57% of SN users clicking on at least one ad in the last year compared to 79% of all web users. 

I don’t think anyone who is on a social network is really surprised. Facebook ads have become absolutely ridiculous. I really only see about 10 products that constantly rotate and no advertiser is really targeting me other than my gender, location or relationship status. Few advertisers take advantage of Facebook’s ability to get super targeted, especially the spam folks. You can display ads based on words included on my profile, come on make them relevant! 

Sometimes I click on the spam ads just to make them pay them pay for my clicks. I know, I’m totally getting coal in my stocking this year. 

The ads I see annoyingly often include: acai diets, someone telling me I have a muffin top (I do not thank you very much), dating sites (just b/c my status is single does not mean I am desperately seeking a boyfriend), engagement rings (but you said I still need a boyfriend!), real estate agents, win an ipod/iphone/mac (you mean all I have to do is complete 64 offers and spend $400 on your partner sites?) and the occasional wildcard. 

Below are my scrren grabs of the last 3 page refreshes from my facbook page. Out of the 9 possible ads I could have been shown 8 of them were for diets (I didn’t screen grad the 9th which was for marathon training, something I actually do care about).

Why doesn’t facebook regulate a little bit more on their ad deployment? That would probably help with their CTR and increase their revenues because people actually might find the ads relevant! 

Theses 8 are totally absurd! Why would I ever click on these? 

 (See below)

facebook_diets   

It’s fucking December. summer is not coming. Showing me two ads at one time will not increase my propensity to click. 

facebook_diets2

!) I’m not a super model, I don’t need to diet like one

2) I like rice but I don’t want to eat it for 2 months straight

3) I don’t ever want to be like Rachel Ray

facebook_diets3

1) Tip number one, do not follow Oprah’s diet advice. She’s not exactly great at staying in shape. 

2) Is that supermodel giving me the stink eye? 

3) I don’t want Acai. Please stop with the Acai ads.

1 Response to "Relevancy."

[…] The ads I see annoyingly often include: acai diets , someone telling me I have a muffin top (I do not thank you very much), dating sites (just b/c my status is single does not mean I am desperately seeking a boyfriend), engagement rings …[Continue Reading] […]

Leave a Reply

Tweets

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
