ErinIs…

Layoffs.

Posted on: November 6, 2008

As the recession continues to kill of the ad industry, there are a lot of blog postings about how to make sure you are not one of those laid off. While I don’t count myself as any sort of expert as I’m only 25 with less than 4 years of experience in this industry, I was able to acquire a job at an agency with no openings and I’ve been able to grow with my firm.

Based on my experience these are my 3 tips.

1) Diversify – When I was hired, there were no openings at my firm so I started as a media assistant and office manager. In the 3.5 years I’ve been at my agency I have worked in every department except creative, diversifying my resume and makeing myself nearly impossible to layoff. My positions have included: office manager, media assistant, media buyer, account coordinator, account executive for progject work, new business coordinator and online media strategist. Additionally, I am willing to take on tasks above and beyong my tasks. By diversiying my job skills, I’ve become an asset. Do you layoff the account coordinator or the emnployee who can do that job in addition to 3 others? Make yourself valuable by being able to take on a variety of responsbilities. 

2) Be Nice- Plain and simple. No need to suck up. Don’t feel like you have to be friends with everyone. Just be nice. Ask people about their weekends. Offer to help when you have some open time at work. Smile. Just be nice and your co-workers and managers will respect you and want to keep you around. 

3) Brag – This is one I don’t do enough. No one will know how what you’re doing, learning or accomplishing unless you brag about it. Share your knowledge with your coworkers. Tell your superiors what you’ve accomplished. Let everyone know what you’re up to so people know that you’re a valuable asset. 

That’s it. Simple enough, right? 

Good luck to anyone who’s company is facing layoffs!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

