ErinIs…

Spam.

Posted on: September 15, 2008

There is a lot of argument amongst advertisers, social media users and the online gurus as to where advertising stands in the lines of social media.

  • Is it really ok to make your brand a “friend” or to ask people to become your “fan”?
  • Do banner ads and text ads intrude on the social space on the web?
  • What does engagement really mean?
  • Do social media users respond to advertising while in the midst of a conversation with their friends Can social media really monetize itself and prove that their worth the billions of dollars marked on their price tags?

Honestly, I have no flippin clue to any of those answers.

But what I can say is that if you respect the space you advertise in (be that social media, PPC, TV, radio, print, direct mail, whatever) and target as exactly as possible then you’re on the right track. I hate Facebook ads that are grossly incorrect in their targeting and I am really starting to hate Twitter spammers.

Within the last 2 weeks I’ve received about 6 new followers who are all the same people with very different users names and they’ve even started to tinyurl their website listing on their Twitter profile so no one can see its the same spammer.

Generally, I’ll take a peek at the profile of a new follower, check out their information and visit their website if they’ve listed it. Common courtesy. Sometimes I follow back, sometimes I subscribe to their blogs sometimes I never visit them again. But this guy is just abusing the it and making me weary of new followers (not that I get a lot).

His blog is boring and covered in ads, his 5 previous Twitter accounts have already been suspended. I tried to find contact information to politely ask him to refrain from trying to follow me on Twitter. Not even a fake email address. I have to log in to post a comment and he reviews it before its posted. Ugh. If you have to try that desperately for the readers and have had to create multiple Twitter accounts because of your spamming then maybe social media isn’t for you.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
